Lou Lou’s Vintage Fair 19/03

Hello ladies and gents,

I’m starting my new job for House of Fraser on the 1st of April, and I’m trying to fill the remaining time in a productive way, so you’ll probably hear from me excessively over the next 2 weeks. As you well know, I recently started to nurture my passion for all things vintage, and I’m happy to tell you about this upcoming event happening in Cardiff on the 19th March – Lou Lou’s Vintage Fair. This is my 3rd Vintage Fair in the last month and a half, and I’m really lucky to be getting the opportunity to work in this environment. I will be writing about my experience there, and I will provide you an insight into the biggest vintage fair in the UK. It really sounds overwhelming when you put it like that 🙂

A few days ago, I went exploring vintage shops in Cardiff, and I bumped into Sobeys Vintage Shop in the  Royal Arcade. I met a very lovely girl there who really knew her vintage. She told me about Lou Lou’s and what to expect, and also gave me a few tips about other events and boutiques happening in Cardiff. (She has now inspired me to start a real treasure hunt and expand to other areas – Bristol, here I come!). I will write about Sobeys as soon as I get my first pay-cheque, because I want to spend some serious money in there. (so clean and neat..yummm)

So far, I learnt that Lou Lou’s is not your regular vintage fair, and the system is a bit different than the ones I have encountered before. It’s definitely not a kilo sale, and it has independent traders from all over the country. They are making this experience different by collaborating with artists, creating an atmosphere by providing music, food and beverages. I am excited about trying some gluten free vegetarian pastry – yummm! Also, they will have a beauty salon, where you can get a vintage-inspired look. I don’t know prices yet, but I will let you know as soon as I get back.

From the reviews and photos I’ve seen on the site, I expect nothing but quality service. The first 2 vintage fairs I attended had the kilo sale system, which meant I could get 2 to 4 kilos without making a hole in the budget. (£15/kilo). I don’t yet know the prices for Lou Lou’s, but luckily, I got my pay-cheque from a film extra job I had in January. I am thinking to spend a maximum of £100 (including the treats). Somehow, I think it’s better because it makes me think more than twice about what I buy, and shuts the impulse buyer in me in a little golden cage.

‎So, as you know, every time I attend a vintage fair, I choose an iconic look to recreate. This time, my muse is Grace Kelly, who I feel in love with in Alfred Hitchcock’s “Rear Window”. I will never be able to pull a Grace Kelly, since that woman’s beauty was out of this world, but I will at least try to build her look. I am hoping to find something similar to her well known dress, which, I think, inspired the Christian Dior ‘Ligne Corolle’.
Grace Kelly (“Rear Window” dress)

I am realistic about this – there’s a chance I won’t find the dress I’m looking for, or I won’t afford it, so I’m going to choose as a back-up the mint green suit she wears in the same film. (this makes me think of another Hitchcock muse – Tippi Hedren – she wears a similar green costume in “The Birds”)

Grace Kelly (“Rear Window” Mint Costume)

Tippi Hedren (“The Birds” Mint Costume)

94f154040ec81d7cd567b2a1596fd6f7de5a76f87a87e6bdfae8624df508a25e (1)

Wish me luck and hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

