Cardiff Film & Comic Con

Hey guys,

Last weekend I attended the Film & Comic Con event that took place in Cardiff at the Motorpoint Arena. It’s something I anticipated for a long time and I’m very excited to share my experience with you – along with a photo album of cosplayers.

A few weeks ago, I talked about how easy cosplay can be with a little bit of imagination, and this event was living proof of how a few ideas can transform something simple into a unique and inventive costume.

For me this event was all about Dave Prowse (the original Darth Vader). Since I haven’t been to a Con since The Force Awakens, I chose the Star Wars theme for my costume. At first, I wanted to create Leia’s white dress, but I realised that I wasn’t ready to look at myself in the mirror looking like someone who’s death I’m not over yet. Whenever I saw a classic Princess Leia, I turned around and walked on an opposite direction. (I promise you, I’m not insane).

I was on a budget, so I couldn’t go as far as creating a more complex look like Boba Fett or even Queen Amidala, so I picked Rey. (btw, I know the general opinion about Episode VII, but I think people are missing the fact that it has to be looked as a tribute to George Lucas. I will write an article about this soon). I adore Rey, she’s a very powerful character and I have high hopes when it comes to her development through the next films.

I started building my costume a few days before the event, and luckily I made friends with a woman who owns a costume shop not far from where I live. This is because she ordered the official Star Wars Rey costume for me and we got to talking afterwards. (You can find the costume online for 45, I payed 30). I knew from the start that it was going to be far from what I wanted. I mean, it’s pretty obvious considering the price, but it was a starting point for building on. I didn’t have time to do anything about the size, but I managed to modify it in a way that it didn’t look too baggy on me.

11273962-1054392028214127

The accessories provided with the costume looked pathetic, so if you think of ordering the costume, I suggest burning them and be inventive. If you’re not a professional cosplayer, you don’t want to spend a lot of money, so you have a look in charity shops. They’re wonderful for accessories and very cheap (I spent less than a fiver for 2 belts, a small bag and 2 white scarfs – which I used to complete my look). Also, I replaced the sleeves from the costume with actual bandages ( 1 pound from every pharmacy ).

If you want to do a Rey cosplay, it’s important to keep it real. For example, I used some grey and dark brown make-up on your costume, to make it look more realistic. (she’s from Jakku, working as a slave, which means she’s going to look a bit dirty). As for actual make-up, you will want to look tanned since you live in a desert, so go with some bronzer. The rest has to be all natural, maybe just a bit of mascara and you’re ready.

However, you can always follow the example of these guys below and think outside the box with your costume.

17157758_409884106037509_2042598397330148658_o(photo taken by DCphoto)

Rey’s hairstyle is very simple (it took me less than 5 minutes to recreate) – section your hair in 3 and just tie them in buns. I didn’t want to make them very tight, so they loosened up a bit over a few hours, but I still rocked it.

…and because I knew I was going to be there for hours, I didn’t bother getting a weapon. Kinda regret it now.

I could speak about the event for pages, but I will just tell you why you should go to a Comic Con whenever you have the chance to:

  • THE PEOPLE – cosplayers or film&comic fans, you have the guarantee that you will meet the best crowd;
  • you have the chance to see and speak to the writers/actors/directors of your favourite series/books/films – I cried my ass off after hugging David Prowse;
  • you get to see/buy merchandise and collectibles at very reasonable prices;
  • you have access to the newest information, and you get to share opinions with people you have a lot of common interest with;
  • you get to meet and support local artists (illustrators, photographers, designers, etc);
  • you will experience waves and waves of happiness;
  • and last but not least, you are a rockstar for a day.

“It was my first ever Comic Con and I thoroughly enjoyed. I have always loved films, series, animes, comics and cartoons, but have always felt it a bit of a taboo getting in costume and walking out in public like that. Within minutes I was asked for a photo with Wolverine – and it didn’t stop there. You will see Kylo with a few unexpected friends in the photos, who he would never have met unless he went to a Comic Con.” – Rowan Edwards

I put together an album with cosplayers, for more photographs, click here!

Leave a Reply

