Vintage Weigh & Pay – Review

Hi there ladies and gents,

As promised, I’m back with impressions from the Vintage Weigh & Pay event.

First of all, I will start by saying “always go for the early bird tickets”. Luckily, I was there at 9:30, so I could take photographs of the venue and the racks of clothing before the mayhem began, or else I wouldn’t have had time to shop. I did my shopping quickly and started to take photographs soon after the doors were open for the public.

I couldn’t believe the numbers. The queue was constantly forming outside and the flow was amazing. It was my first large vintage event, and I’m happy I was there as a photographer, because it offered me a complete perspective on such events. I think it’s amazing that they do a proper tour all over the UK, stay tuned!

At first, I thought that the lack of windows was going to be a problem, but I found out that it didn’t bother me at all in the end. They used the venue’s badass stage lighting, which actually helped a lot with my photography, and they definitely helped with seeing if the colours of the clothes were authentic. The staff was friendly and very helpful, and I met a lot of people with whom I shared the passion for anything vintage.

All the clothes, accessories and shoes were organised very logically, which made the overall shopping experience fairly easy. Everything was diverse, from size to style and fabrics, so no matter what you were looking for, there was a big chance you would find it at one of the Vintage Weigh & Pay events.

Rowan and I went there on different missions, but we both achieved what we wanted. It’s usually about the vintage designer clothes and recreating classic outfits, but this time I was a very impulse buyer, proof that you can find literally everything there.

We left the fair with almost 4 kilos, and we want some more!  I can only describe what we bought as an affordable fantasy (we both really like the rockstar look, and after seeing “Almost Famous”, we had our minds set on the Penny Lane coat). I’ll write a post with everything we got as soon as we can take them out for a spin in the sun.

For now, I’ll leave you with this slideshow with photographs I took at the event. Enjoy and hope to see you at one of the next vintage events – I will keep you posted!

For more photographs, click here!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

